Contact Martin

Telephone: +61 8  8271 6448
Fax: +61 8  8373 3158

About Waite

The Electorate of Waite is named after a Scottish immigrant named Peter Waite (1834-1922) who arrived in South Australia in 1859 and acquired property at Urrbrae in 1874. He was Chairman of Elder's Wool and Produce Company in 1883 and Chairman of Directors of Elder Smith and Co. in 1888. He donated his Urrbrae estate to the University of Adelaide in 1913 and further land in 1915. He also gave 45 hectares to the South Australian Government for the establishment of an agricultural high school. In 1923 the Waite Agricultural Research Institute was named after him.

Area: approx. 33.1km2 

Location: Waite is an urban electorate in Adelaide's inner south-east, taking in the suburbs of Brown Hill Creek, Clapham, Hawthorn, Kingswood, Lower Mitcham, Lynton, Mitcham, Netherby, Panorama, Pasadena, Springfield, St Marys, Torrens Park, Urrbrae and Westbourne Park as well as parts of Belair, Colonel Light Gardens, Daw Park and Leawood Gardens.

The electorate boasts one of the highest concentrations of schools, as well as many high quality parks and recreational facilities. The Waite Institute, Brownhill Creek Recreation Park and Carrick Hill are just a few of the beautiful and historic landmarks that dot the Waite electorate.  

There are 20 schools within the electorate of Waite, including 5 kindergartens, 5 public primary schools, 3 private primary schools, 4 public high schools and 3 private reception-year 12 schools. There are also 5 child care/early learning centres. 

History: Created at the 1991 redistribution, effective at the 1993 elections, the district was first represented by Stephen Baker.  Upon retirement at the 1997 election, he was replaced by Martin Hamilton-Smith.

2016/17 Electoral Boundary Redistribution: In 2016 the boundaries of many South Australian electorates changed significantly. Waite was one of these electorates. The changes proposed by the South Australian Electoral Commission would shift Waite south; further into foothills. These changes come into effect until the 2018 state election. 

The suburbs that will be joining Waite are:

  • Blackwood
  • Craigburn Farm
  • Eden Hills
  • Glenalta
  • Hawthorndene
  • Coromandel Valley
  • Coromandel East
  • Crafers West
  • Upper Sturt (portion)
  • Belair (all)
The suburbs that will be leaving Waite are:
  • Hawthorn
  • Clapham
  • Lower Mitcham
  • Colonel Light Gardens
  • Panorama
  • Westbourne Park